Board of Directors


Patrick McDermott

President, J-C Press

Patrick McDermott is President and owner of J-C Press, a 159-year-old printing company, located in Owatonna, MN.  Patrick entered the commercial printing industry in 2011 bringing more than 15 years’ progressive sales and manufacturing operations leadership experience from diverse global operations. Patrick is an active member of the community, he serves on many boards including the Printing Industry Midwest Board of Directors.

Chair Elect

John Barnhart

President, Barnhart Press

John Barnhart

I was born in 1957 and starting working part time for the family business shortly after graduating from second grade. Printing has been in our family since the late 1880’s, and there was always something to do or help out with all through my formative years. I attended the University of Nebraska and graduated with a business degree in 1980; during the same years I also attended the University of Pittsburg, Kansas for additional graphic arts and printing education during the summer months. In 1981, I started full time with Barnhart Press as a sales representative, became a vice president and then president in 2007. I directed the sales, marketing and equipment acquisition during my tenure with a lot of help from family and dedicated employees. I was named the Distinguished Printer of the Year for Nebraska in 2014 and in 2016 merged and moved the company to our new central Omaha location.

Vice Chair

Tom Murphy

President, CARDSource

Tom Murphy

Tom’s first paying job involved racking sheets from a letterpress at a Bloomington MN printer in 1973. His actual printing career began in 1981 when he joined CARDSource (then called Plastic Products) as part of the sales team. Toms philosophy of “Making a Positive Difference” helped the company grow, to become one of the largest card personalization sites in the country. Tom became President of CARDSource in 1985, completed the Carlson School MEP program, and became a certified life coach. Tom has owned CARDSource since 2003, and has served as a PIM board member since 2016.


Perry Klein

Vice President, Mittera Group

Perry Klein

As Vice President of New Business Development, Perry brings more than 30 years of experience in communications technology, printing, mailing, and fulfillment to Mittera and its customers. He began his career as a systems analyst with Meredith Corporation, quickly working his way up to IT Fulfillment Manager before launching out as an entrepreneurial partner-owner of Des Moines-based Devan Direct Marketing. He sold the business to Colorfx in 2000. Perry holds a BA from Central College and an MBA from Drake University and was named 2014 Iowa Distinguished Printer of the Year by Printing Industry Midwest. At work, he currently works with customers to bring quality products and services that generate new revenue to Mittera. Perry have been involved with multiple acquisitions over the past 15 years.

National Rep PIA

Lana Siewert-Olson

President, Ideal Printers

Lana Siewert-Olson is President of Ideal Printers in St. Paul, MN. Prior to joining the family business in 1988, she worked for another printing company in the Twin Cities. At Ideal Printers she started in Customer Service and then on to Sales and has been president since 2002. She is a past board member of NAWBO and past chair of the board at PIM and is currently our national board rep at the Printing Industry of America.

Past Chair

Brad Eslick

President, Record Printing Co.

Brad Eslick is President at Record Printing Company.   Currently in his 32-year tenure he oversees all company operations.  Brad has been one of the employee owners of Record Printing Company for the last 18 years.  Brad is currently the Chairman of the Board of PIM and has been actively involved with the association for over 20 years.


Darren Carlson

CEO, American Spirit Graphics Corp.

Creston Dorothy

CEO, ProColor

Al Hillman

CEO, Standard Dynamics

Tim Johnson

CEO, Impact

Mike Lane

CEO / President, Meyers Printing Co.

John Lynch

CEO, Woolverton

Samantha Metcalf

Principal, Clifton Larson Allen LLP

Ben Olk

President, NCCO

Tim Olsby

President, Graphic Finishing Services

Jayme Wisely

CEO/President GLS / NEXT Precision Marketing